top of page

Temporary Exhibit:
Socializing in Douglas before Television

Our current temporary exhibit features activities that Douglasites did for entertainment before the television era, focused in the late 40s and early 50s. Images and artifacts include the Little Theater group, the Kiwanis and other service clubs, shuffleboard playing at the 10th Street Park, baseball, and bowling. 

Visitation Hours: 

Wednesdays and Saturdays

12pm to 4pm


Smelter Room

Photos and objects from the smelter's over 80 year history. Objects include a mineral display, photos, tools, and safety equipment. Learn about how the smelter brought jobs and created a dynamic economy through most of the 20th century. 

Marty-Dess Camera Room

Considered a world-class camera collection, the room displays over 200 cameras. From big cameras to small, the equipment tells the story of two female business owners, Marty Stolp and Edessa Lee, who helped capture the faces of Douglas for decades.  


Elias Room

The Elias family's history and contributions to the area are remarkable. The room memorializes through furniture and period items what life was like when the Elias family lived in the Douglas-Williams House. Armando Elias was the President of the Arizona Historical Society and a descendent of Plutarco Elias Calles, President of Mexico from 1924-1928. 

Douglas Schools Museum

Materials and information about schools in Douglas through history is presented. Items were donated by the former Douglas Schools Museum. 


Effie Anderson Smith Art Exhibit

An early Arizona impressionist painter (1869-1955), Mrs. A.Y. Smith is considered the Dean of Arizona women artists. Her artwork showcases the beauty of our region.

"...It is the desert and the desert hills and mountains that this artist has glorified, not a land of sand and wasteland, but a country where color runs riot from its desert blossoms to its famous sunsets..." 


- Douglas Daily Dispatch - January 1942

bottom of page